nounDefinition
ROAS(Return on Ad Spend)i.e.Return on Ad Spend, ismeasureAdvertisingenterexitcompared toCore Metrics, expressperenter$1AdvertisingCostcantohow muchSales.
calculateFormula
ROAS = AdvertisingSales / AdvertisingSpend
ROAScalculateFormula
ROAS = Ad Revenue / Ad Spend
andACoSRelationship
ROASandACoSforRelationship:
ROAS = 1 / ACoS
ACoS = 1 / ROAS
:
ROAS = 1 / ACoS
ACoS = 1 / ROAS
:
| ACoS | ROAS |
|---|---|
| 20% | 5.0 |
| 25% | 4.0 |
| 33% | 3.0 |
| 50% | 2.0 |
| 100% | 1.0 |
Exampleanalysis
Example: ROASGoal
a certainsellersProduct Cost$20, Selling price$50, Profit Margin60%.
break-evenROAScalculate:
break-evenROAS = 1 / Profit Margin = 1 / 60% = 1.67
analysis:
- ifROAS = 2.0(ACoS = 50%): Advertisingprofit is positive, earn $$1Advertising$0.2
- ifROAS = 1.67(ACoS = 60%): Advertisingbreaks even
- ifROAS = 1.5(ACoS = 66.7%): Advertisingat a loss, earn $$1Advertising$0.1
Recommendations:
settingsROASGoaltime, shouldconsiderproductProfit Margin, fixedcostandProfit.usuallyRecommendationsROASGoalat leastcompared tobreak-evenROAShigh30%-50%.
a certainsellersProduct Cost$20, Selling price$50, Profit Margin60%.
break-evenROAScalculate:
break-evenROAS = 1 / Profit Margin = 1 / 60% = 1.67
analysis:
- ifROAS = 2.0(ACoS = 50%): Advertisingprofit is positive, earn $$1Advertising$0.2
- ifROAS = 1.67(ACoS = 60%): Advertisingbreaks even
- ifROAS = 1.5(ACoS = 66.7%): Advertisingat a loss, earn $$1Advertising$0.1
Recommendations:
settingsROASGoaltime, shouldconsiderproductProfit Margin, fixedcostandProfit.usuallyRecommendationsROASGoalat leastcompared tobreak-evenROAShigh30%-50%.
Optimization Tips
1. focus onROASandnotACoS: ROASmoredirectlyobservenegativeAd Efficiency
2. set reasonableROASGoal: based onproductProfit Marginandoperation phase
3. useDynamic Bidding: letAmazon automaticallyOptimizationbyreachtoGoalROAS
4. OptimizationProduct Page: improveConversion RatecandirectlyenhanceROAS
5. Advertisingchannel: testdifferentAdvertisingtypeandCampaign Strategy
2. set reasonableROASGoal: based onproductProfit Marginandoperation phase
3. useDynamic Bidding: letAmazon automaticallyOptimizationbyreachtoGoalROAS
4. OptimizationProduct Page: improveConversion RatecandirectlyenhanceROAS
5. Advertisingchannel: testdifferentAdvertisingtypeandCampaign Strategy